Twitter You Tube Facebook Autobodynews Linked In

Friday, 03 June 2016 19:15

ASA-AZ Tucson Chapter Hosts Student Awards Banquet

ASA-AZ Tucson Chapter Hosts Student Awards Banquet

On May 11, the Tucson Chapter of ASA-AZ hosted the 56th Annual Student Awards Banquet in the JTED Banquet Room at Santa Rita High School. The Jim Click Automotive Team co-sponsored the event, where 16 students from mechanical and collision classes were recognized for excelling in their coursework.

Students were sponsored by ASA member shops and industry vendors, and award recipients received a starter set of tools, valued at $500 each. According to Luz Rubio, executive director of ASA-AZ, "Parents and guests were invited, so we totaled over 100 individuals in attendance. At the dinner, each instructor shared highlights of why the student was selected as their top student."

Recipients of the 2016 Outstanding Automotive Student Awards included Hector Peralta from Amphitheater High School, Daniel Colella of Andrada Polytechnic High School Vail, Taylor Esposito from Canyon Del Oro High School, Alan Borbon of Cholla High School, Steven Upton from Flowing Wells, Wayne Martin of JTED at Baboquivari, Zachary Morris of Marana High School, Terrance Morales from Mountain View High School, Matthew Luna of Pueblo High School, Johnathan M. Martinez from Rincon High School, Nathaniel Maupin from Sahuarita High School, Bobby Ingraham of Sahuaro High School TUSD, Adam Alcantar from Sunnyside High School, Anthony Rodriguez of Sunnyside High School, Fabian J. Gutierrez from Tucson High School, and Andrea Ronquillo of Tucson High School.

During the event, four students planning to pursue an automotive career after high school were awarded $1000 scholarships. This year's scholarship winners were Waylan Martin from JTED at Baboquivari High School, Daniel Matthew of Polytechnic High School, Matthew Luna of Pueblo High School, and Steven Upton from Flowing Wells High School. 

Read 980 times