Twitter You Tube Facebook Autobodynews Linked In

Tuesday, 17 May 2011 21:23

OK Technical Students Place In Ford/AAA Student Auto Skills Contest

The Ford/AAA Student Auto Skills is a nationwide automotive technology competition for high school juniors and seniors interested in pursuing careers as automotive service technicians.

The Oklahoma state championships were held in Okmulgee at the end of April, and students from local schools were able to walk away as winners--some with a ride to the national portion of the competition in-hand.

The competition tests students’ automotive knowledge, workmanship and problem-solving abilities with a written test as well as a race against the clock to diagnose and properly repair intentionally “bugged” vehicles.

Each year, Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology in Okmulgee is the host for this statewide contest. This year’s contest brought together juniors and seniors from 10 technology centers across Oklahoma.

This year’s first place winning team was from Moore Norman Technology Center in Norman. Students Lathan Springer and Donovan Peters, along with instructor Lee Dow, made up the winning team. They will represent the state in the National Hands-on Finals in June at Ford Headquarters in Dearborn, Michigan.

AAA Oklahoma and Ford Motor Company sponsor the competition to encourage technically-minded young people to pursue careers in the automotive service industry. At stake during the competition are scholarships, prizes and letters of recommendation to future employers.

In 2010, 10,500 automotive technology students competed for a share in a record-high $11.5 million in scholarships available through the state and national competitions.

The winners of the competition were:

* First Place:  Lathan Springer, Donovan Peters and instructor Lee Dow from Moore Norman Technology Center in Norman.
* Second Place:  William Cotton, Payton McCuistion and instructor Shelly Smith from Meridian Technology Center in Stillwater.
* Third Place:  Cameron Kaiser, Matthew Hart and instructor Darren Barnhill from Indian Capital Technology Center in Muskogee.
* Fourth Place:  Ray Busby, Daniel Carroll and instructor Stacy Estes from Red River Technology Center in Duncan.
* Fifth Place:  Justin Ryland, Dylan Mattingly and instructor Jonnie Roberts from Moore Norman Area Vocational Technology Center in Norman.
* Sixth Place:  Erik Ceniceros, Cody Rader and instructor Ron Rader from Northwest Technology Center in Alva.
* Seventh Place:  Scott Smith, Skyler Wadkins and instructor Justin Michael from Tulsa Technology Center in Tulsa.
* Eighth Place:  Derek Pyle, Connor Fitzpatrick and instructor Keith Barnett from Mid-America Technology Center in Wayne.
* Ninth Place: Thomas Fryhover, Caleb Brooks and instructor Bill Joice from Northeast Technology Center in Pryor.
* Tenth Place:  Daniel Upp, Tyler Hankins and instructor Robert Blair from Francis Tuttle Technology Center in Oklahoma City.


Read 2519 times