Drivers in the city of Corpus Christi, Texas, now have even more incentive to abide by the state's car insurance mandate after local police began a new campaign this past weekend that targets the uninsured motorist problem.
Over New Year's weekend, a unit of the city's police department set up a number of checkpoints across the city where drivers were asked to show proof of insurance. If a motorist stopped at the checkpoint could not provide proof of coverage, the police were authorized to tow the vehicle to an impound yard.
For those who don't have coverage, getting caught while driving uninsured will likely end up costing much more than it would have been to simply purchase a policy in the first place. In light of this, Texas motorists may want to find and purchase a low down payment auto insurance policy rather than run the risk of large fines and potentially huge costs of causing a serious accident.
If a Texas driver is found to be driving without financial protection, the punishments are relatively severe. Motorists convicted of driving without coverage can get court fines ranging from $175 to $1,000, depending on whether there were previous convictions. In addition to these one-time court fines, the Texas Department of Public Safety leverages an annual surcharge of $250 for three years in order for a convicted driver to maintain his or her driver's license.
And drivers who have their cars towed and impounded by the Corpus Christi Police Department are also subject to a $133 impound fee, with additional storage charges of $21.65 per day. Those who have had their cars towed will also need to show proof of financial responsibility in order to reclaim their vehicles.
Taking all of these costs into consideration, a person who gets stopped at the checkpoint and does not have insurance could wind up paying $1,256 just in fines and fees for a first-time offense.